July 23, 2017 Trip Report

Trip Notes

I arrived at the park just after opening. The weather was overcast with one or two short periods of drizzle during the day.

I never really noticed the show guides available at the front gate this season until today. A couple new things I took note of: Taste of Italy and Greece events will be at Arthur’s Baye instead of Action Zone where they’ve been in the past. The other thing is that Oktoberfest will be on two September weekends (16/17, 23/24) instead of just one.

The Freestyle Ski Aerials show seems more like a “filler” show than anything else, which is not necessarily a bad thing. It felt like it was over very quickly, but it’s a fun little event to stop for a bit and watch.

The Great Canadian Fiddle Show fills Celebration Plaza with great music!

Here is the menu for the Celebration Plaza food stalls for the rest of the month. I haven’t purchased any meals in Celebration Plaza so far since I’ve got the meal plan.

Riptide is back up and running. I rode it for the first time in years today since it was running a dry cycle. I don’t know why I don’t ride it more often. I thought it was pretty fun.

With my ride on Riptide, I realized I had ridden all five Mondial Rides at the park. (Since I’ve skipped Riptide for years, I can’t say that very often.) Here’s my ranking as of today:

  1. Shockwave (Top Scan)
  2. Psyclone (Revolution)
  3. Riptide (Splashover)
  4. Windseeker (Windseeker)
  5. Soaring Timbers (Inferno)

It’s a bit unsettling that earlier this season I had Soaring Timbers over Shockwave. Maybe I was just excited about a new Mondial at the park.

Sledgehammer seemed to be having one of those days.

It felt like a short visit (even though it was about six hours) but it was fun. Thanks for reading!

Trip Meals

I had the curried beef from Backlot Cafe. It still remains my favorite meal at the park because it’s been consistently good. Today’s serving was easily the best with a generous serving of curry and a slight peppery kick to it because it shared a pan with the spicy potato curry.

I didn’t stay long enough for dinner.

Trip Video

Leave a Reply

