July 16, 2017 Trip Report

Trip Notes

I arrived at the park about 15 minutes before opening. There was Behemoth ERT so I headed there first and got a couple of rides in.

Sledgehammer is a lot of fun and I’m glad others still enjoy it as well!

I made my way over to Soaring Timbers. It was a walk-on when I got to it. I was surprised to see them loading every other row, bringing the capacity down to just under half. I’m not sure what the reason is but I don’t like it, especially since it’s still running that boring cycle.

I find myself hopping over to Shockwave after Soaring Timbers. It’s running very well.

Over at Arthur’s Baye, they set up the ramp for the Freestyle Ski Aerials show for Celebration Canada 150. Today was its debut but I never caught the show.

I guess the best place to view the landing is from the Marketplace Buffet patio at the back, if it’s open for non-eating guests.

The Earth Rangers were nearby with animals on display.

I took a ride on Thunder Run. I love the view from the queue, although the trees block it for most of it. I remember these used to become famous gum trees.

Thunder Run is such a nostalgia trip for me as it’s one of those rides that I stuck with growing up with the park. Although there are changes in the station and the VR thing, the inside of the mountain is more or less the same. Somehow, the string lights at the end of the ride are the most memorable thing from the 90’s.

I hadn’t ridden Time Warp in over a decade and I was thinking about giving it another try so I finally did it today. Boy, was that a mistake.

From beginning to end, the car was vibrating and knocking my head harder than any other ride at the park… and its neighbor is an SLC! I wore my glasses on it and, by the end of it, the nosepads were bent out of shape and my head, nose, shoulders, and back were aching. For more than half of the ride, I was holding my face because of how loose it had knocked my glasses. It’s the worst experience I’ve had on a ride in recent memory, because the last memory was the last time I rode this piece of garbage.

I seriously don’t understand how a ride like this could have lasted so long. It’s not even just the ride experience. You’ve got a super bored op doing nothing but confirming with the load attendant that the next car is ready. Then you’ve got the lone exhausted load attendant walking back and forth all day, closing the cages. I hope this ride is on its way out sooner than later.

After the ride on Time Warp that got me actually angry because it exists, I went straight to Leviathan which had a line just a little longer than the staircase. It went down as I got in line but it started loading riders again about fives minutes later. I got a seat in the back row which gives such an excellent ejection as you leave the lift.

There’s a security camera in the station. I’m not sure if it’s new, but the sign for it is definitely new. It hangs above the exits gates and says that the area is being monitored. I’m curious about the reasoning.

A few more notes with no pictures:

  • Backlot Cafe no longer has bison burgers and the veggie burger now has the upgrade fee on the meal plan.
  • Bistro 81 is no longer on the meal plan.
  • Vortex won a capacity contest with the Bat crew at Kings Island. I didn’t spot any other of those signs at the rides I rode today.

Thanks for reading!

Lunch/Dinner

For lunch, I was taking too long to decide so I ended up with my favorite chicken nuggets and fries from Chicken Shack. Great as always.

For dinner, I had the meat lasagne from Backlot Cafe. It was a bit of a let down with it being burnt all around and super salty, but it somehow was not the worst meal I’ve had at the park before.

Leave a Reply

