July 1 & 3 Trip Report (Canada Day Long Weekend)

Trip Notes

Saturday, July 1, 2017

Happy Canada Day! The weather was not exactly perfect but still tolerable. It definitely kept the crowds away as I was fully anticipating it to be the busiest day of the season. I felt like the park has already been busier this season than it was on Canada Day.

The new Celebration Plaza breathed new life into that area of Medieval Faire. There’s a temporary stage, patio seating, and street performers scattered around throughout the day.

This band was there throughout the day. They were also on International Street at times too.

There’s these little stalls for Taste of Quebec and Taste of Ontario this week. Each week, the menu items change themes for other parts of the country. (I’m personally looking forward to the lobster mac and cheese!)

I didn’t see a single purchase from these stalls while I was around. It might have been because the staff looked incredibly bored…

Elsewhere in Medieval Faire, a new virtual reality experience takes over the old laser tag game. While I personally have zero interest in this, it was still good to see people participating.

This Haunt-themed stall popped up near Wonder Mountain’s Guardian. Late in the day, I saw they were redecorating it though I’m not sure what it ended up serving.

As usual, paths and certain rides were closing early due to the fireworks show. The weather was concerning some people but it did end up happening, unlike Victoria Day weekend. That fireworks show has been rescheduled for the Civic Holiday in August.

I caught the Ultimate Thrills Circus. I wanted to see the ball of death or whatever it’s called (the one where people on motorbikes drive inside a sphere). They didn’t have that this year but there were a couple of other motorbike stunts. It’s a good show but I don’t have much interest in watching it again.

This was something I couldn’t stop laughing at for most of the day. For Canada Day, staff are allowed to decorate themselves and certain parts of their rides (usually entrance signs and ride fencing). The guys at Psyclone ended up with this. It got worse as the day went on with the rain making it rapidly fall apart. Eventually they took it down… to reveal the tape or whatever they used left a blue imprint of the sign. I’ve always wondered why they never bothered slapping on a coat of paint on the container since they’ve been so good at upkeeping building paint everywhere else around the park.

Shockwave was down as they did some work on the arm motor. It was back up by Monday, running the same fun cycle.

Soaring Timbers, on the other hand, continues to disappoint me and the riders getting off. I’m starting to think that they have it running like that to have a ride for people who don’t want something as intense as Shockwave. Maybe I’m just making excuses for it.

Monday, July 3, 2017

Compared to Saturday, the weather on Monday was gorgeous. The park was noticeably busier.

This little Mountie is stationed at his post on Arthur’s Baye.

I finally caught the Cirque Canadien show. To be honest, I never watched any of the Cirque shows the park has had in recent years so I was excited to check it out. It was such a fun show and something I hope everyone gets a chance to see when they’re at the park.

I’ve saved so much money being on the meal plan this year that I’m browsing through shops more and tempted to start buying things. I keep going to the park saying I’d treat myself to dessert but I still haven’t yet this season. The fudge at the Sweet Shoppe on International Street is so tempting.

Right before I left the park, I bought one of these t-shirts for $14.99. (It’s even less with the season pass discount!) It’s an exclusive shirt to Wonderland with the CW logo on the back. It’s a good price considering other shirts at the park are almost twice that price. I may or may not be considering buying another in a different color…

Trip Eats

On Saturday, my lunch was my first meal from the new La Cantina on International Street. I went for the three tacos. I’m so bad at customizing food on the spot so my tacos had weird combinations. In the end, the ingredients were all good so it was all delicious. My only issue was that it wasn’t very filling for me but, again, the quality is up at the top.

For dinner, I had my favorite chicken nuggets and fries. They were clearly left out for a while and the fries were the bottom of the basket fries. However, this meal still managed to be good, and this is still better than any meal I’ve had out of Coasters.

On Monday, I had the chicken mac and cheese from Alpen Cheesery. I wanted the jalapeno sausage but all they had was chicken. That was my second choice anyway so it was cool. I opted for some nacho cheese on top. I also asked for some sprinkled parmesan cheese, but the associate was struggling with the cheese all clumped up in the container that I told him to forget it.

I was shocked by the weight of this when it was handed to me. I’m happy to report that my stomach survived this one. (My stomach didn’t agree when I first tried a meal from Alpen Cheesery a few visits ago.) I still intend on trying the jalapeno sausage version soon!

For dinner, I went back to La Cantina and got a chicken casadilla. At first, I was worried it wouldn’t be filling but it was actually the perfect size. I really like the chicken at La Cantina over the beef. The beef is still good if that’s your thing though.

Trip Video

Leave a Reply

