June 11, 2017 Trip Report

CW Notes

Today was one of the first really hot days of the season. I was happy to finally get back to wearing a t-shirt and shorts to the park after all of those dreadful cold visits!

There was Early Ride Time for season pass holders in the Leviathan area. Since I tend to skip Leviathan most of the time because of long waits, I made my way there quickly as I arrived at the park in the last minutes of ERT. It was a staircase wait for me but the switchbacks were starting to fill up when I was getting off as the park opened to the public.

My next stop was Soaring Timbers. They’ve added some planter boxes around the top of the waterfall with cattails in them. It blocks the view of the platform but I like the amount of effort they’re putting into the theming around the ride.

They added a caged ladder at the back of the ride going up to the arm’s motor compartment. There are some support beams sticking out that I’m guessing will support a catwalk.

I don’t know if it’s luck in the way the gondolas are balanced with people or if the ride is adjusting the way it runs between cycles but there were a few times I was watching where one of the gondolas actually completed a full flip. Most of the day, though, it was still doing its slow non-flipply thing.

I’d like to think that it will eventually get a better cycle but I’ll always take a ride on it every time anyway.

This weird gondola on Sledgehammer was easily the highlight of my visit. The damper that controls the angle of the gondolas took much longer than normal to level out the gondola after each jump. With the last jump and drop so close together, the last drop looked like what’s pictured above. It threw me off the first time I noticed it because it looked so unnatural… so naturally, I had to try it!

It’s gondola #3, the one closest to the exit gate. When it jumps, the gondola is still spinning like in the picture for several rotations. Everyone on the gondola was loving it, taking turns falling into their restraint with their feet hanging out as they spun to face the ground. I loved the last drop because it’s so different to what it normally feels like. It was so much fun that I hope they don’t change it.

You can see it in action at the end of the trip video, linked at the end of this post.

Arthur’s Baye continues to get into the Canada 150 spirit with more red paint and a couple of these Canada 150 signs in the area.

I was recording a cycle at Riptide when it stopped at the top. When I got home and reviewed the footage, you could see the two forks out of sync and the ride trying to get them back aligned. I never looked at it that closely before so it was very interesting to see. In the trip video, you can see it at around 6:00.

I finally got my hands on the Purple Splash drink at the Freestyle machine at the Alpen Refresh Center. This is an exclusive drink that’s only available at Wonderland. I believe it only comes in a no-calorie version. That’s probably why it’s not too sweet, which is good. I’m probably wrong but it’s sort of like mostly grape but maybe with some lemon. I don’t know, I’m bad at this.

While we’re on the topic of drinks, the adventures with the drink plan continues. The Behemoth Freestyle stall didn’t have the small drink plan cups so I was denied a drink from there and was told to go to Coasters. There are still restaurants and Refresh Centers giving out regular-sized and even large cups. I also still have two drink plans on my season pass for some reason.

Thanks for reading!

Lunch/Dinner

I decided to try the chicken tenders and fries from Chicken Shack, instead of my usual chicken nuggets. As expected, it’s an excellent meal with nice pieces of chicken. The seasoning does have a hint of paprika (I think) which gives it a different taste to the nuggets. However, the thinner cuts of chicken and perhaps the way it was cooked makes the tenders really dry so you’ll likely want to dip them in ketchup or whatever sauce they give you (they’re always quick to give you sweet and sour for some reason). Whenever I get the nuggets, I have no problem eating them plain as they’re thicker and usually juicy. All in all, the quality and seasoning makes this a meal I’d get again!

Also, I have to mention that this is one of the most expensive meals at the park, listed at $18.99. I would have never gotten this if I didn’t have the meal plan.

Trip Video

Leave a Reply

